Appointments

On 4 June 1999 the Treasurer, the Hon. Peter Costello MP, announced 10 appointments to the Commission. The appointments comprise two full-time Commissioners, five part-time members and three ex officio members.

Full-time Commissioners

Mr Ross Jones is a Senior Lecturer in Economics and the Director of the Undergraduate Program at the School of Finance and Economics at the University of Technology, Sydney. He has been an examiner for the NSW Board of Studies Higher School Certificate Economics and an advisor to the syllabus committee. He has also provided consultancy services to the ACCC, the Trade Practices Commission and the Prices Surveillance Authority since 1989.

Mr John Martin was the Executive Director of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry for 10 years, and has previously held positions in the Department of Industry, Technology and Commerce; the Department of the Treasury; the United Nations; and the Papua New Guinea administration. He will be the Commissioner dealing primarily with small business matters.

Mr Jones and Mr Martin have been appointed for five years.

Part-time members

Ms Teresa Handicott is a partner with the legal firm of Corrs Chambers Westgarth. In 1994 she was appointed a part-time member of the Trade Practices Commission and was appointed to the ACCC when it was formed in 1995. Since 1987 she has practiced exclusively in the areas of commercial and corporate law, particularly mergers and acquisitions, capital raisings and securities industry law.

Ms Rhonda Smith is a consultant economist and a Senior Lecturer in Economics at the

University of Melbourne. She recently completed a three-year term as a full-time member of the ACCC. Since 1988 she has acted as an expert witness and advisor in major trade practices litigation, and has been a consultant for the Trade Practices Commission, the Prices Surveillance Authority and the private sector.

Mr Don Watt is a barrister and company director and Chairman of the Legal Practices Board of Western Australia. He was initially appointed as a part-time member of the Commission in 1995.

Mr Warwick Wilkinson AM was initially appointed as a part-time member of the Commission in 1995. He has held office as the President of the Australian Council of Professions and Chairman of the Pharmacy Board of NSW and of the Ambulance Services Board of NSW.

Professor Doug Williamson QC is the Director (Professorial Fellow) of the Centre for Energy and Resources Law at the University of Melbourne. He is a member (part-time) of the National Native Title Tribunal (fulfiling mediation and arbitration roles) and the Deputy Chairman (part-time) of the National Electricity Tribunal. Previously he was a practicing barrister specialising in commercial, trade practices and competition law and energy and resources law. Professor Williamson's distinguished legal career with his mediation qualifications will greatly assist the Commission in resolving access arbitration disputes.

Ex officio members

Under an arrangement with the States and Territories each jurisdiction is entitled to nominate their principal independent pricing regulator for part-time appointment to the Commission. These regulators come together on a regular basis as members of the Commission's Energy Division.

Mr Graham Scott is the South Australian Independent Pricing and Access Regulator and was previously a Senior Lecturer in Economics at the University of Adelaide. This is the first time a person has been appointed on the nomination of South Australia.

Mr Andrew Reeves has been re-appointed as the Commissioner of the Tasmanian Government Prices Oversight Commission. He was initially appointed as a part-time member of the ACCC in 1996.

Mr Paul Baxter has had his part-time term as the Australian Capital Territory Independent Pricing and Regulatory Commissioner extended. He is a member of the Independent Audit Group of the Murray–Darling Basin Ministerial Council (part-time) and a partner of PriceWaterhouseCoopers. He was initially appointed as a part-time member of the ACCC in 1998.

Page 2 ACCC Journal No. 22