Commission contacts

General Manager — Hank Spier (02) 6243 1124

Mergers and Asset Sales Senior Assistant Commissioner — David Smith (02) 6243 1234

Adjudication, Senior Assistant Commissioner — John O'Neill 02) 6243 1226

Enforcement and Regional Coordination, First Assistant
Commissioner — Glen Barnwell
(02) 6243 1044

Consumer Protection and Compliance Strategies, Carl Buik (02) 6243 1066

Small Business Unit, Ziv Gavrilovich (02) 6243 1063

Corporate Management, Senior Assistant Commissioner — Helen Lu (02) 6243 1009

General Counsel — Luke Woodward (02) 6243 1273

Media Liaison — Lin Enright (02) 6243 1108

General publications queries — Robert Booth, Canberra (02) 6243 1143 Helen Ritson, Melbourne (03) 9290 1812

Micro-economic Reform, First Assistant Commissioner — Joe Dimasi (03) 9290 1814

Electricity Group, Senior Assistant Commissioner — Michael Rawstron (02) 6243 1249

Gas Group, Senior Assistant Commissioner — Mark Pearson (02) 6243 1276

Micro-economic Reform Strategies, Senior Assistant Commissioner — Trevor Lee (03) 9290 1863 Senior Assistant Commissioner — Margaret Arblaster (03) 9290 1862

Staff profile

Bill Dee, Director Liaison in the Compliance and Consumer Protection Strategies Branch of the Commission, has worked with the Commission, and its predecessor the Trade Practices Commission, since 1978.

His present position involves the development of market sensitive and consumer responsive ways to promote compliance with the Trade Practices Act — notably industry self-regulatory schemes.

Bill was active in the establishment of the Society of Consumer Affairs Professionals in Australia and the Association for Compliance Professionals in Australia.

He chaired the Australian Standards Committee which developed standards on Complaints Handling and Compliance Programs.

Commission offices

ACT (national office) General Manager, Hank Spier PO Box 1199, DICKSON ACT 2602 Tel: (02) 6243 1111 Fax: (02) 6243 1199

New South Wales

Regional Director, Tim Howes GPO Box 3648, SYDNEY NSW 2001 Tel: (02) 9230 9133 Fax: (02) 9223 1092

Tamworth

Assistant Director, Albert Julum PO Box 2071, TAMWORTH NSW 2340 Tel: (02) 6761 2000 Fax: (02) 6761 2445

Victoria

Regional Director, Tony Mineely GPO Box 520J, MELBOURNE VIC 3001 Tel: (03) 9290 1800 Fax: (03) 9663 3699

South Australia

Regional Director, Lesley Reardon GPO Box 922, ADELAIDE SA 5001 Tel: (08) 8205 4242 Fax: (08) 8410 4155

Queensland

Regional Director, Alan Ducret PO Box 10048, Adelaide Street Post Office BRISBANE OLD 4000 Tel: (07) 3835 4666 Fax: (07) 3832 0372

Townsville

Assistant Director, Paul Arscott PO Box 2016, TOWNSVILLE OLD 4810 Tel: (07) 4771 2712 Fax: (07) 4721 1538

Western Australia

Regional Director, Lee Hollis PO Box 6381, EAST PERTH WA 6892 Tel: (08) 9325 3622 Fax: (08) 9325 5976

Tasmania

Regional Director, Peter Clemes GPO Box 1210, HOBART TAS 7001 Tel: (03) 6234 5155 Fax: (03) 6234 7796

Northern Territory

Director, Derek Farrell GPO Box 3056, DARWIN NT 0801 Tel: (08) 8943 1499 Fax: (08) 8943 1455

Bill was awarded the Public Service Medal in the 1998 Australia Day honors list.

The award was for developing innovative industry self-regulatory practices to strengthen the competitiveness of the economy and to protect consumers.

