SOUTH AFRICA - AGREEMENTS WITH NEIGHBOURING STATES - GROUPINGS IN THE REGION.

South Africa continues to negotiate a framework of contacts with some of her neighbours. These are:-

Mozambique:

A treaty of non-aggression, the Accord of Nkomatai was signed on 16 March 1984: [1984] Australian I.L. News 291. This was seen as major public relations coup for South Africa. It proscribes, inter alia, the use of Mozambique territory by forces dedicated to the overthrow of the South African government, and to the assistance by South African forces hostile to the Mozambique government.

Swaziland:

An agreement was concluded between South Africa and Swaziland in 1982, but only announced earlier this year. We have not seen the text of the agreement; but according to the South African embassy in Canberra, the agreement came into being by an exchange of notes. Under the agreement, the two countries are to exchange trade representatives.

The introductory paragraph of the agreement expresses the awareness of the two states that international terrorism, in all its manifestations, poses a real threat to international peace and security as well as their agreement that they should take steps to protect their respective states and nationals against this threat. The agreement records the undertaking of the parties to combat terrorism, insurgency and subversion individually and collectively as well as their right to call upon each other for such assistance and steps as may be deemed necessary or expedient to eliminate this evil.

The parties are required to respect each other's independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity in the conduct of their mutual relations and to refrain from the threat or use of force as well as any other act which would be inconsistent with the purposes and principles of good neighbourliness.

They also agree that to facilitate the maintenance and development of peace and friendly relations between the two states, they are required not to allow any activities within their respective terrorities which are directed towards the commission of any act which involves a threat or use of force against each other's territorial integrity.

The two governments are also required not to allow the installation or maintenance of foreign military bases or the presence of foreign military units within their respective territories except in accordance with their right of self-defence in the event of armed attacks and only after due notification to the other.

Angola:

A ceasefire and troop withdrawal were apparently agreed in February 1984.

The text is not yet available to us, and it is reported that there has been a delay in the actual timing of the South African troop withdrawal.

"TBVC Countries:"

These entities, Transkei, Bophuthatswana Venda and Transkei are not recognised as states by other powers, apart from South Africa, which has close relations with them. These entities are partners with South Africa in the Development Bank for Southern Africa.

Namibia:

This continues to be administered by South Africa. The Economist prophesised in its 16 June 1984 issue, page 16, that "South Africa may grant independence - with strings".

Groupings in the Southern African region:

Of the groupings in the South African region, apart from the TBCV countries the following may be noted:

SADCC, The South African Co-ordination and Development Conference, consisting of Angola, Zambia, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Swaziland and Lesotho. A principal objective is to reduce dependence on South Africa, which is not, of course, a member.

SACU, the South African Customs Union, established in 1910 and renegotiated in 1969. It consists of the BLS countries, Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland, all of which are now independent from the UK, as well as South Africa which administers the Union and collects customs and excise revenues on all imports by the member countries. It is a major source of income for the BLS group and constitutes 37 per cent of Botswana's total government revenue. The figures for Lesotho and Swaziland are 71 per cent and 60 per cent respectively. With the exception of Botswana, the member states constitute the Rand Monetary Area.

D.F.

Postscript

On 30 July, the Lesotho government announced that South Africa had refused to permit the delivery of arms purchased from a UK firm, until Lesotho signed a non-aggression agreement. The UK government had been requested to intercede with the South African authorities. Lesotho has indicated that she will take the matter to the UN, and seek to have her rights of passage determined by the International Court of Justice.

In early August, the South African Consulate General in Wellington was closed. The new New Zealand Prime Minister, Mr. Lange, in honouring an election promise said South Africa's racial policies "violate international law and defy standards of human rights accepted by right thinking people": Sydney Morning Herald 6 August 1984 at page 7.