## - THE PHILIPPINES - PROVISION ON NATIONAL TERRITORY\*

The Constitutional Commission of 1986 of the Republic of the Philippines publicised its recommendations on the National Territory as follows:

## NATIONAL TERRITORY -

- The national territory shall comprise the entire Philippi archipelago, "with all the islands and waters embraced therein and all other territories over which the Philippi has sovereignty and jurisdiction."
- While the words "historic right and legal title" in the 1973 Constitution were deleted, it does not prevent the Philippines to pursue its claims over Sabah and other territories under International Law.
- The whole Philippine archipelago shall be the domain defined in the Treaty of Paris and other historic treatie referred to in the 1935 Constitution.

The full text of Article 1 of the Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines provides:

## NATIONAL TERRITORY -

The National Territory comprises the Philippine archipelago, with all the islands and waters embraced therein, and all other territories over which the Philippines has sovereignty or jurisdiction, consisting of its terrestial, fluvial, and aerial domains, including its territorial sea, the seabed, the subsoil, the insular shelves, and other submarine areas. The waters around, between, and connecting the islands of the archipelago, regardless of their breadth and dimensions, form part of the internal waters of the Philippines.

<sup>\*[</sup>The text of Article 1 of the New Philippine Constitution was provided by his Excellency Romualdo A. Ong, Ambassador of the Republic of the Philippines, Canberra].