Noticeboard

continued from page 24

accompanying a statutory demand.

An official copy of the Amendment Rules is available on the Internet from the ScalePlus site at http://law.agps.gov.au.

Report on ADR Standards launched

The Commonwealth Attorney-General, Daryl Williams, AM QC MP launched a National Alternative Dispute Resolution(ADR) Advisory Council (NADRAC) report on 'A Framework for ADR Standards' in Brisbane on 13 June 2001.

The Attorney observed that the quality of ADR services is a critical component in building community confidence in ADR. NADRAC's report balances the need to recognise the diversity of ADR with the need for consistent standards for consumers. The report provides practical guidance to ADR service providers and practitioners. It also makes 21 recommendations for public and private sector bodies.

The report and other information may be obtained from www.nadrac.gov.au, or through the NADRAC secretariat on 02 6250 6460.

Important notice on insurance policies

The Law Society Northern Territory requests that all legal organisations who remove a legal practitioner from their insurance policy advise the practitioner in writing that this has occurred.

This will assist legal practitioners in meeting their obligations to ensure that they hold insurance for the entire period that they are practising law in the Northern Territory as required under the Legal Practitioners Act NT.

Practitioners are required to advise the Law Society of any change to their employment or practice situation. Please advise the Society in writing via mail: GPO Box 2388 Darwin NT 0801, fax: 8941 1623, or email: lawsoc@lawsocnt.asn.au

LAW PRIZEGIVING CEREMONY

The Northern Territory University Law School held its annual Prizegiving Ceremony on Tuesday 29 May 2001 at the Supreme Court in Darwin.

Head of the School of Law, and Acting Associate Dean Mr Marco Piazzo said that prize winners had distinguished themselves in the 2000 Academic Year by not only achieving the highest mark in their subject but being judged of sufficient merit to receive their individual prizes.

"Deserving special mention are Ms Tanya Ling and Ms Mo Kham (Khami) Hom. Ms Ling was awarded the Attorney General's medal as the most academically outstanding graduand of 2000. She is currently Associate to Chief Justice Brian Martin and will commence articles with Hunt and Hunt on the completion of her associateship," said Mr Piazzo.

"Ms Mo Kham (Khami) Hom was awarded the Supreme Court Medal on the basis of her outstanding professional promise through scholarship, character and leadership. She is the President elect (2001) of the International Shan Lawyers Council.

"The Law School is proud to announce these and other students as its prizewinners for the 2000 Academic year. However, students should not rest on their laurels. Continuing students have the chance to do it all over again. Graduands commencing articles will have to ensure through their work in the profession that nights like this retain legitimacy in the eyes of their fellow practitioners. Legitimacy won by the efforts of past graduands of the Law School," he said.

The Law School acknowledged the generous support of the various firms who donated prizes and the generosity of the court in allowing the use of the Supreme Court Building for the presentation.

"A special thankyou is also extended to those members of the profession, the judiciary and the magistracy who give of their time for little or no reward to assist in teaching at the Law School and who are responsible in no small way for the continued high quality of the prizewinners," said Mr Piazzo.

"The Law School also extended appreciation to the presenters at the Prizegiving Ceremony.

"Thanks go to the Chief Minister Mr Denis Burke for presenting the Attorney General's medal; to Chief Justice Brian Martin AO MBE for presenting the Supreme Court medal; to Mr Kim Hill Commissioner of the NT North Zone of ATSIC for presenting the ATSIC prize and finally to Mr John Reeves QC, who presented the majority of the prizes. The attendance at the Prizegiving Ceremony of former Chief Justice Mr Austin Asche QC, Justice Dean Mildren, Mr Rex Wild QC and many other legal practitioners was greatly appreciated," he said.

The Supreme Court medal was awarded to Ms Mo Kham (Khami) Hom by Chief Justice Brian Martin AO MBE as Acting Associate Dean Marco Piazzo looked on

