Annual General Meeting and Strategic Planning Meeting

The Law Society Northern Territory held its 2006 Annual General Meeting at the Saville Park Suites in Darwin on Wednesday 11 October.

The agenda included an update on the new Legal Profession Bill and an amendment to the Constitution to allow the NT Young Lawyers Committee to have an alternate member for the Law Society Council.

At the AGM, the Law Society positions were elected for the 2006-2007 Council year.

Congratulations to:

- * Ms Allison Robertson (Cridlands) President
- Mr Duncan McConnell (Morgan Buckley)
 Vice President
- * Ms Jo Pattinson (De Silva Hebron) Treasurer
- * Mr Matthew Storey (Dept of Justice) Secretary
- * Ms Kim Raine (Morgan Buckley) Alice Springs Representative
- * Mr Rennie Anderson (Povey Stirk) Alice Springs Alternate Representative
- * Mr Pat McIntyre (John Toohey Chambers) NT Bar Representative
- * NT Young Lawyers Representative TBA Councillors:
- * Caroline Bicheno (Ward Keller)
- * Ian Read (NT Legal Aid Commission)
- * Katarzyna Rutkowska (NT Legal Aid Commission)
- * Jason Schoolmeester (Department of Justice)
- * Markus Spazzapan (Ward Keller)
- * Jodi Truman (John Toohey Chambers).

The new Council is off to a flying start, holding its Strategic Planning Meeting on Saturday 21 October to plan the priorities and course for the Law Society over the coming year.

The Council has established (or continued) the following committees for the coming year:

Commercial Law: Alison Maynard (Chair), Lyn Bennett, Carolyn Walter, Alastair Shields and Guy Riley. Lisa O'Donoghue.

Costs: Markus Spazzapan (Chair), John Neill, Dylan Walters, Caroline Bicheno, Cameron Ford, Duncan McConnell, Barbara Bradshaw.

Continuing Professional Development/Charles Darwin University: Jason Schoolmeester (Chair), Jo Pattinson, Meredith Day, Matthew Storey, Jacqueline Presbury, Peter Barr, Maria Savvas, Cameron Ford, Barbara Bradshaw, Christine Heatherington-Tait, Zoe Malone.

Criminal Law: membership to be finalised.

Family Law: Michelle Giacomo (Chair), Margaret Orwin, Kim Raine, Jodi Truman, Eileen Terrill, Katarzyna Rutkowska, Barbara Bradshaw.

Income and Investment Committee: Jo Pattinson (Chair), Allison Robertson, Paul Maher, Duncan McConnel, Barbara Bradshaw, Julie Davis.

Indigenous Issues: Matthew Storey (Chair), Shahleena Musk, Jackie Antoun, Lindy Morgan, Agata Pukiewicz, Bill Piper, Vanessa Lethlean, Eddie Cubillo, Fiona Hussin, Nigel Browne, Pat McIntyre, Keven Stephens, Barbara Bradshaw, Zoe Malone.

Legal Aid/Pro Bono: Jo Pattinson (Chair), Caitlin Perry, Kate Halliday, Alix Cameron, Sharon Payne, Fiona Hussin, James Docherty, Barbara Bradshaw, Zoe Malone, Christine Heatherington-Tait.

Legal Profession Bill: Allison Robertson (Chair), Ian Morris, Duncan McConnel, Carolyn Walter, Barbara Bradshaw, Julie Davis, Zoe Malone, Christine Heatherington-Tait.

Professional Indemnity Insurance: Duncan McConnel (Chair), Allison Robertson, Rhona Millar, Jo Pattinson, Duncan McConnel, Markus Spazzapan, Barbara Bradshaw, Zoe Malone.

Professional Standards: Allison Robertson (Chair), Jacqueline Presubury, Eileen Terrill, Ian read, Caroline Bicheno, Janet Terry, Donald Hudson, Jodi Truman, Bill Priestley, Guy Riley, David Farquhar, Katarzyna Rutkowska, Barbara Bradshaw, Josephine Stone.

Tort Law Reform: Allison Robertston (Chair), Jacqueline Presbury, Mellissa Dunn, Nicole Dunn, Bill Piper, Will Oliver, Barbara Bradshaw, Zoe Malone.