Milestones for NT Women Lawyers

Lindy Morgan, Outgoing President, Northern Territory Women Lawyers Association

At the NTWLA 2009 AGM held on Wednesday 23 September at the offices of the Law Society, outgoing President, Lindy Morgan spoke about the many milestones which have been reached for Northern Territory women involved in the Law during 2009.

- "Her Honour Justice Sally Thomas AM retired after 30 years on the bench
- Her Honour Judith Kelly SC was appointed to the Supreme Court Bench
- Chief Magistrate Jenny Blokland became the new Patron of NTWLA

2008 - 2009 Activities

12 December 2008

NTWLA hosted Christmas drinks on the Judge's balcony. The event was extremely successful and a substantial amount was raised for our nominated charity (Dawn House). Many thanks to the Judges and the Court for allowing us to use their wonderful balcony and facilities for this event.

08 April 2009

Ms Georgia McMaster (President Australian Women Lawyers) and I met with the NT Attorney-General The Honourable Delia Lawrie MP. Thanks for Georgia for organising this meeting. Documents provided to Ms Lawrie at the meeting included the NTWLA mission statement.

17 April 2009

NTWLA held a quiz night at committee:

Waratah's Football Club and raised funds for Dawn House. It was a great night and NTWLA received a great deal of support for a number of fabulous raffle prizes. Thanks again to those who generously donated prizes including: Her Honour Justice Thomas AM, Magistrate Melanie Little, Di Croco, Barristers Block Wines, Butterfly Nails, Heavenlee Deli, Darwin Chinese Massage. Thank you to the Waratah's FC for the use of their great facility and to Rex Wild QC who was the fabulous Master of Ceremonies.

06 August 2009

NTWLA held membership drive drinks at William Forster Chambers. The function was extremely well attended. Thank you to WFC particularly for the use of their lovely venue.

24 September 2009

NTWLA are co-hosting a wine tasting event with the NT Young Lawyers (NTYL).

15 October 2009

NTWLA are hosting a luncheon in the Jury Muster Room of the Supreme Court. The guest speaker for this event is The Honourable Michael Kirby AC CMG.

Thank you to the committee for their hard work throughout the year.

NTWLA would simply not have been able to organize the functions and/or undertake the work required this year without our fantastic committee: Sue Porter - Vice President Frieda Evans – Secretary Sally Gearin – Treasurer Marguerite Bowen – Member Rebecca Sharkey – Member

Many thanks also to Her Honour Justice Sally Thomas AM for her wonderful contribution as our outgoing Patron. Her Honour has been a stalwart friend and supporter of NTWLA over many years.

A great deal of thanks also go to many others including, and particularly, Magistrate Melanie Little for ongoing support, ideas, inspiration and friendship during the year.

Thanks to the Supreme Court, the NT Law Society and others for their help and support during 2009.

In conclusion. I wish NTWLA the very best.

I trust the organisation will go from strength to strength with the commitment and dedication of the committee and women lawyers throughout the NT and I know NTWLA will receive much support from our new Patron Chief Magistrate Jenny Blokland.

I personally would like to thank Jenny for taking up "the mantle" and I am sure her association with NTWLA in this new capacity will be fruitful for all involved as I know the Chief Magistrate comes to the role with high regard, passion and commitment." {

