particularly in the case where damages are claimed under many heads, we invite a conclusion that the necessary give and take, and the necessary realism in prediction, was absent, and therefore a conclusion of unreasonableness. But that is not what happened here. I think the defendant made proper, if tending to low, assessments of the outcome."

The Court's approach to the task of assessing interest in this case highlights obstacles in the path of plaintiffs seeking an award of interest under this statutory scheme. The legal policy theory underpinning an award of interest on damages is that the defendant has had use of funds to which the plaintiff was entitled and the plaintiff should be compensated for being deprived of the funds.

Section 45 of the *Motor Accidents Act* imposes a duty on insurers to endeavour to resolve claims as expeditiously as possible including by settlement. This section has already been considered as having no coercive effect in another case. (*Stubbs v NRMA Insurance Limited*, unreported, NSW Supreme Court, Dowd J, 18 December 1996)

In Mr Thomas' case the defendant's first offer of settlement was made more than 6 years after the plaintiff's injury. Until the *Motor Accidents Act* is amended to provide an appropriate mechanism there is no way plaintiffs or their representatives can require an insurer to make an offer.

Section 76E of the Supreme Court Act 1970 provides for interim awards of damages but this does not apply to Motor Accidents Act claims. (Section 76H) This case also highlights the need for amendment to \$76E to include motor accident claims.

In the meantime, plaintiffs waiting for an offer of settlement simply have to wait patiently.

On 12 June 1997 the defendant applied for and was granted a stay pending appeal on condition that a payment of \$4.25M was made within 28 days.

Leonard Levy SC is an APLA member specialising in common law and medical negligence. Len can be contacted at Selborne Chambers, Level 4, 174 Phillip Street, Sydney NSW 2000. Phone (02) 9231 4988, fax (02) 9233 6469.

State Contacts

New South Wales

President

Catherine Henry, Craddock Murray & Neumann

ph: (02) 9283 4755 cmn@hutch.com.au

Secretary

Helen Tsikrikas, Kaplin Reeves Tsikrikas

ph: (02) 9299 6780

Andrew Fegent, Andrew Fegent & Coph: (02) 9267 5199

Treasurer

Jay Anderson, Garfield Barwick Chambers

ph: (02) 9221 4938

jayoa@enternet.com.au

Conference Committee

Diana Farah, Carroll & O'Dea ph: (02) 9232 2133 dfarah@carrollodea.com.au Roland Everingham, Cashman & Partners

ph: (02) 9261 1488

cashmans@world.net

Plaintiff Liaison

Bill Madden, Blessington Judd ph: (02) 9238 6000 wjm@bj.com.au

Oueensland

President

Peter Carter, Carter Capner ph: (07) 3221 1833 P.Carter@mailbox.uq.edu.au

Secretary

Rob Davis, Attwood Marshall ph: (07) 5536 9777 rdavis@s130.aone.net.au

Treasurer

Richard Carew, Carew & Company ph: (07) 3236 1528

Conference Committee

Peter Carter, Carter Capner ph: (07) 3221 1833 P.Carter@mailbox.uq.edu.au

Plaintiff Liaison

Steve Roche, Shine Roche McGowan ph: (076) 38 5777

Victoria

President

Angela Sdrinis, Ryan Carlisle Thomas ph: (03) 9238 7878 rctdand@ozemail.com.au

Secretary

Sean Millard, Rennick Briggs ph: (03) 9602 4000 seanm@interspace.com.au

Treasurer

Don O'Halloran, Maurice Blackburn & Co

ph: (03) 9345 2700

Conference Committee

Ron Pearce, Ryan Carlisle Thomas ph: (03) 9238 7878 rctdand@ozemail.com.au

Plaintiff Liaison

Geoff Coates, D Madden & Coph: (03) 5562 4855

Protect Victims Rights Campaign Co-ordinator

Lee Carmody, APLA, GPO Box 5160AA, Melbourne, Vic, 3001 ph: (03) 9221 6204 fax: (03) 9221 6161

South Australia

President

Stephen Lieschke, Lieschke & Weatherill ph: (08) 8211 8662 lieschke@dove.com.au

Secretary

Ruth Carter, Ruth Carter & Associates ph: (08) 8212 7322

Conference Committee

Paul Alvaro, Wallmans ph: (08) 8235 3000

Western Australia

President

Sukhwant Singh, Friedman Lurie Singh ph: (08) 9325 6133 fls@iinet.net.au

Treasurer

Matthew Glossop, Matthew Glossop & Associates ph: (08) 9370 4547

Australian Capital Territory

President

Michael Higgins, Higgins Solicitors ph: (06) 248 0488

Northern Territory

President

James Hebron, De Silva Hebron ph: (08) 8941 2544 ftumsch@ozemail.com.au

APLA Policy Officer

Simon McGregor ph: (03) 9629 9778 fax: (03) 9629 8257