1986 AWARDS ANNOUNCED

The LAA has awarded the Redmond Barry Award to Mr Justice Rae Else-Mitchell, Chairman of the Commonwealth Grants Commission, and the H.C.L. Anderson Award to Mr W. L. Brown, State Librarian of Tasmania.

Mr Brown was nominated for the H.C.L. Anderson Award in recognition of his outstanding service to librarianship in Australia and the Library Association of Australia.



Mr W.L. Brown

Mr Brown had a distinguished career as a public librarian prior to his appointment as State Librarian of Tasmania in 1973. He was successively Chief Librarian of the Sutherland Shire Library (1953–54), the Lithgow Municipal Library (1954–58), the Fairfield Shire Library (1959–64) and the Essendon/Broadmeadows Regional Library (1966–73).

The State Library of Tasmania and Tasmanian Public Library Service have been marked

by unprecedented growth under Mr Brown's leadership. He instigated the Cartland Report on Archives which led to the Archives Act of 1979 and was largely responsible for the landmark 1984 Libraries Act.

Mr Brown was President of the LAA in 1975–76 and Editor of the *Australian Library Journal* from 1971–74. He served as an associate examiner for the Registration Examination from 1963–69 and was recently a member of the Public Libraries Standards Review Committee.

Mr Brown represented the LAA's Victorian Branch Council on the Library Council of Victoria from 1969–73, served on the AACOBS Council from 1972–1982 and was elected to its Standing Committee from 1974–82. He was a member of the 1975 Commonwealth Inquiry into Public Libraries and has served as the Chairman of the State Librarians Council for the last 6 years. He has also been a member of the Australian Libraries and Information Council since its inception in 1982 and is currently Chairman of that body.

Mr Justice Else-Mitchell has been awarded the Redmond Barry Award in recognition of 25 years' distinguished service to the library profession.

Mr Justice Else-Mitchell was a member of the Trustees of the Public Library on NSW from 1961-69 and a member of the subsequent Council of the Library of NSW from 1969-75 during which time he became its Deputy President. In March 1975 he was appointed as a member of the Library Council of NSW and served as its President until his resignation in 1979. He was also a member of the Archives Authority in NSW in 1974-75.



Mr Justice Else-Mitchell

Mr Justice Else-Mitchell served three terms as a member of the National Library of Australia Council from 1974-84. He was Chairman of the Council's Canberra Public Library Service Committee from 1975-81 and has been Chairman of the Canberra Public Library Service Advisory Committee since that date.

Mr Justice Else-Mitchell has also had a very extensive concurrent involvement in Australian Historical Societies as President of the Royal Australian Historical Society from 1970–77 and as President of the Federation of Australian Historical Societies since 1977. This expertise has been of particular value in his involvement with the affairs of the Mitchell Library and the National Library of Australia. He has been Chairman of the Commonwealth Grants Commission since October 1974.

LIBRARIES ALONE:

Rural and Isolated Libraries Conference Wagga Wagga, NSW. 21-23 July 1987.

CALL FOR PAPERS and REGISTRATION OF INTEREST

This conference aims to gather together librarians from rural and isolated areas in Australia to discuss and disseminate ideas and practical ways of solving the problems inherent in being physically separate from the main centres of population. The Steering Committee will welcome offers of papers and would appreciate an early indication of interest in attending the conference. Please complete the attached form and return it to the address below by 27 JUNE, 1986.

SOME CONFERENCE DETAILS

- * Keynote speaker will be Professor Bernard Vavrek, Center for the Study of Rural Librarianship, Clarion State College, PENNSYLVANIA, USA.
- * Plenary, concurrent and workshop sessions will allow participants to consider general issues and specific problems.
- * Accomodation will be available on-campus at the Riverina-Murray Institute of Higher Education: fully serviced and including all meals for \$40 a day. Conference fees will be approximately \$110 (non-LAA members \$140)
- * Topics already planned: Education for rural librarianship, Copyright, Document delivery, Communication, Teleconferencing, Networks and regional co-operation, Rural libraries and distance education. Unresolved issues from the 1981 conference on Libraries in Isolation will be given further consideration.
- * Sponsored by: LAA Riverina Regional Group; School of Info. Studies & W.Merrylees Library (RMIHE); Riverina Comm.Library.

Return this form to: Steering Committee, Libraries Alone, RMIHE, P.O. Box 588, Wagga Wagga, NSW 2650, by 27.6.86.

- 1. I am / am not willing to write / contribute / present a paper.
- 2. I suggest the following topic/s as a paper/panel discussion/workshop. TOPIC/S:
- 3. I am/am not interested in attending the Libraries Alone Conference in July 1987. NAME:

ADDRESS:

POSITION / ORGANISATION: