LIERARY BOARD

OF W.A.

Volume 8 Number 10 19 June 1987 ISSN 0158 0876

Newsletter of the Library Association of Australia

376 Jones St, Ultimo 2007 Tel: (02) 692 9233

Toll free (008) 22 1481. Fax (02) 692 0689

H.C.L. ANDERSON AWARD WINNERS

The LAA has awarded the H.C.L. Anderson award to Mr. J.G. Dwyer and Professor Jean Whyte. The General Council may confer the H.C.L. Anderson Award on any person who is a professional member of the Association, and who has rendered outstanding service to e librarianship or to the library profession Australia, or to the Library Association of Australia or to the theory or practice of librarianship.

It is the first time that two H.C.L. Anderon Awards have been given in the same year. n doing so, Council warmly acknowledged e special merits of the two nominees.

Mr Jim Dwyer is well known for his extenive contribution to the field of school librarnship and in particular for his expertise in e areas of joint libraries and networking in chool libraries. His involvement with schools began as a teacher in Melbourne, Hobart and Perth. He later worked as a librarian in the National Library and the Canberra Public Library Service, reaching the position of Deputy Public Librarian and Acting Public Librarian.

In 1964 he was appointed to the position of upervisor of the School Libraries Branch of e South Australian Department of Educa-on. Under his guidance the school community library movement has flourished in South Australia.

Mr Dwyer has travelled extensively overeas to develop his expertise at an international level. He has contributed to many semars and journals on the subject of school librarianship. In 1978 the Schools Commission vited him to undertake a three-month survey of Australian school/community libraries. In 1981 he became a member of the Joint Use Libraries Evaluation Committee established by the South Australian Departments of Education and Local Government and was largely responsible for the report produced by this committee. In late 1981 he became a member of the National Joint Use Libraries Review Committee established by the Schools Commission.

Mr Dwyer was appointed to the South Ausalian Library Advisory Committee in 1983 as the nominee of the Minister for Education.



Professor Jean Whyte: ... a long association with the LAA ... as a researcher and a writer she has few equals.

Since 1984 he has been a member of the Board of Directors of ASCIS (the national schools automated cataloguing service) first as Deputy Chairman and later as Chairman. Thanks, in part, to his enthusiasm and perseverance, ASCIS is now fully functional with membership in every state. In 1985 he became inaugural Convener of the Department of Education's Library Resource Curriculum Committee.

As organiser in South Australia of the Association's 50th birthday celebrations, Jim Dwyer has continued his long-standing involvement with the LAA. He was inaugural President of the South Australian Group of the School Libraries Section in 1966-67 and President of the Association in 1981. In 1982 he was made a Fellow of the LAA.

Professor Jean Whyte has held the position of Professor, Graduate School of Librarianship at Monash University since 1975.



Celebrating with a famous Australian

Emeritus Professor Manning Clark, AC, is to give the inaugural Harold White Oration at he 50th Anniversary celebrations of the LAA. The Anniversary dinner will be held at he Lakeside Hotel, Canberra on 3 September 1987.

Professor Clark was born in Melbourne. He attended Melbourne Grammar and the University of Melbourne, as well as Balliol College, Oxford. He became professor of Australian History in the School of General Studies, Australian National University, in 1949. He has published widely and is best known for his monumental work, *A History of Australia*. Professor Clark is presently working on the sixth volume of this work which will be published later in 1987.

Professor Clark has long been an Australian library user. He is a familiar face in the National Library of Australia, and he has known Harold White, Canberra, and the National Library, for many years. The Library Association of Australia is delighted that he is to give the inaugural Harold White Oration.

Jenny Gleeson



Mr J.G. Dwyer: . . . well known for his extensive contribution to the field of school librarianship and for his expertise in the areas of joint libraries and networking in school libraries.

Professor Whyte began her career in librarianship at the State Library of South Australia. She became one of the earliest people to obtain the Qualifying Certificate of the then Australian Institute of Librarians and was awarded a Fulbright Travel Grant to attend the Graduate Library School at the University of Chicago.

From 1959-1972 she worked at Sydney University Library where she was appointed to the position of Associate Librarian (Reader Services) in 1966. In 1972 she was appointed Director, Information Resources and Services at the National Library of Australia, becoming one of the first women officers of the Second Division of the Commonwealth Public Service.

In 1975 Professor Whyte became Foundation Professor and Chairman of the Graduate School of Librarianship at Monash University. The Graduate School of Librarianship introduced a new era in education for librarianship in Australia by concentrating on research and the Master's degree as a base level qualification. Under Professor Whyte's direction it has become one of the leading schools of librarianship in Australia, with a well founded reputation for scholarship and research.

Professor Whyte has had a long association with the LAA. She edited the *Australian Library Journal* from 1959-71, during which time it developed into a professional journal of world class. She also served on the Board of Examiners and was Chairman of that body from 1962-63. Her definitive history of the Australian Institute of Librarians will appear shortly.

Professor Whyte was a member of the Council of the National Library of Australia from 1981 — 1987 and was appointed as a member of the New State Library Building Committee in 1985. She has published numerous articles, papers and reviews. As a researcher and writer she has few equals.

Importantly, Jean Whyte has also contributed to her profession by encouraging younger librarians. She has inspired co-workers and students to work harder for their profession and to work harder at being professionals.

Mr Dwyer and Professor Whyte will be presented with their awards in September during the LAA 50th Anniversary celebrations in Canberra.