

ANCY Lane is definitely in Australia! Yes, she's still the Development Officer at the Academy of Science, and her many friends and students who knew her in Adelaide, Perth and the University of Canberra don't have to re-format their memories. Earlier in the year she and two of her colleagues in the Academy, all three Americans, became Australian citizens. Congratulations!

Robyn Benjamin has been appointed to the newly created position of Head of Technical Services at the Dixson Library, University of New England-Armidale. Robyn has held various technical services positions at Fisher Library (University of Sydney) and most recently at the State Library of New South Wales. She also worked at the National Art Library in London (under an exchange arrangement) during 1990/91.

Trevis Lawton has moved from the position of City Librarian/Regional Librarian for the City of Kalgoorlie/ Boulder and the Eastern Goldfields Region, to take up the position of Librarian at the Benedictine Monastery



Nancy Lane, on left, with Academy colleagues Bonnie Bauld and Amy Pryor (seated), hold their proof of citizenship.

situated at New Norcia in rural Western Australia. The Benedictine collection holds one of the best collections of rare books in the country, including a number of 16th Century works dating back as far as 1508.

Maryna Mews is the new librarian at the Batman College of TAFE. She was formerly Chief Librarian for the City of Caulfield, but has been travelling and free-lancing since 1990.

ALIA award to outstanding student



T THE 1992 Graduation of the Library and Information Studies Department at Box Hill

TAFE, ALIA once again presented an award for outstanding work. Additional awards were presented by the Alumni Association, the Australian Library Technicians Association, DA Books and journals, Ebsco Australia, Tait bookshop and Triad Data Magic.

Bev Kirby was the guest speaker, and Trevor Wakely attended to present the ALIA award to Linda Duncan.



left to right: Pam Naylor, Head of Department; Margaret Jesson, Tait award; Linda Duncan, ALIA award; Geoff Pankhurst, Alumni award; Ray Grenfell, Associate Director; Anna Forcucci, Ebsco award; Coralie Foster, DA Books award; Manuel Proeger, ALTA award; Meryll Williams, Triad award.

Australian Library and Information Association

Election of Vice-President 1993 (President-elect 1994)

Call for nominations

In 1986, the General Council of the then Library Association of Australia resolved to change the composition of the Executive Committee from President, Immediate Past President, Vice-President, General Secretary, General Treasurer and Chairman of the Board of Education to President, Immediate Past-President, Vice-President and two members of the Council elected by the General Council to the Executive Committee.

The positions of General Treasurer and General Secretary are thus being abolished. This will be completed when revised By-laws are approved by the Governor General. In the interim, these positions are being filled by the two members of Council elected to the Executive Committee.

In accordance with Division F Regulations, nominations are now called for the position of Vice-President 1993 (President-elect 1994). Nominees must be personal financial members of the Association. Candidates and nominations should read the relevant regulations carefully. Please note that nominations must be:

- in writing;
- signed by two personal financial members of the Association;
- countersigned by the nominee;
- accompanied by a current curriculum vitae (giving full details of academic and professional qualifications) and a statement of professional concerns. The curriculum vitae should be arranged under the headings of Present Position, Previous Positions and Professional Activities. The curriculum vitae and the statement of concerns should each not be more than 100 words.

Nominations close at 5pm on 1 September 1992 and should be sent to the Executive Director, Australian Library and Information Association, POBoxE441, Queen Victoria Terrace, ACT 2600.