# Celebrating 60 years...

Last month we introduced some of the past presidents of the Association in its many guises (Australian Institute of Librarians, Library Association of Australia). This month we take you back to the beginning and introduce the first 10 presidents of the the newly-formed Australian Institute of Librarians.

#### 1937-38 Mr W H Ifould

Ifould was the foundation president of the Australian Institute of Librarians. As chairman of the Libraries Advisory Committee from June 1937 he helped to draft New South Wales Library Act 1939. He was elected a Fellow of the Library Association (UK) in 1939 and made a Foundation Fellow of the Libary Association of Australia in 1963. In 1928 he was awarded the OBE.

#### 1938-39 Mr E R Pitt

Co-author of the Munn-Pitt report and founding member of the Australian Institute of Librarians.

### 1939-40 Mr H R Purnell

Principal librarian of the Public Library of South Australia from 1912 to 1944.

#### 1940-41 Mr K Binns

Binns was a strong advocate of a 'national' library distinct from the Commonwealth Parliamentary Library. He was appointed librarian of the national collection in 1928. Prominent in the intellectural life of early Canberra, Binns was a founding member of both the University Association and the Canberra Society of Arts and Literature.

### 1941-43 Mr H M Green

Green contrinuted substantially to the development of the University of Sydnev Library. He was a founding member of the Institute and was involved in the formation of the Committee of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)

### 1943-44 Mr L Scott

Scott was involved with the Australian Library Association, and the Library Association of Victoria before becoming involved with the Australian Institute of Librarians. He was a member of the Institute's Board of Examination. Scott was one of the first Australian university librarians to offer professional reference services.

### 1944-46 Mr J D A Collier

Although lacking formal qualifications, Collier was appointed librarian of the Tasmanian Public Library. In 1943 Kenneth Binns, librarian of the Commonwealth National Library, praised his efforts in providing library services for the people of Tasmania. In 1994 he was appointed as state librarian at the State Library of Tasmania.

#### 1946-48 Mr J W Metcalfe

Metcalfe began his career as a junior library assistant in the Fisher Library at the University of Sydney. He took a first-class honours degree in history in 1923 and in that year joined the staff of the Public Library of New South Wales. In 1932 he became deputy principal librarian, and principal librarian in 1942, a position he held until his resignation in 1959 when he moved to the University of New South Wales.

Metcalfe was an advocate for free public libraries in Australia and was also instrumental in the development of a library school to train professional librarians. He became the first Australian Fellow by examination of the Library Association.

Metcalfe chaired the Institute's Committee on Standards and Training whose 1938 report effectively set the pattern of professional education and qualification in Australia. He was the



first, although un-named, editor of the Australian Library Journal from 1951-

### 1948-49 Miss M E Archer

Ellinor Archer graduated Master of Science from the University of Melbourne in 1918 and lectured in botany for some years before being appointed as Secretary of the Seed Improvement Committee of the Institute for Science and Industry in 1921. In 1923 she was appointed chief librarian of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, which later became the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO).

Ellinor Archer was a pioneer in the application of modern principles and methods of special libraries. She was a foundation member of the Institute and promoted its welfare for the remainder of her life. She was an early member of the Board of Examination and Certification and was the first woman president of the Library Association of Australia.

### 1949-50 Mr J W Metcalfe 1950-53 Sir John G Latham

Sir John Latham was a politician, diplomat, chief justice and lay supporter of libraries. He was president of the the Free Library Movement of Victoria from 1937-48. To his presidency of the Library Association he contributed not only immense prestige, but also a trained judicial mind.

# **INMAGIC®** DB/TextWorks

DB/Text® WebServer

From

TRIAD

Authorised INMAGIC Dealer

Tel (03) 9696 4866 Fax (03) 9696 4869

We have solutions for Information Management:

- WWW Internet/Intranet access
- Library Management **Systems**
- Circulation Control and Barcoding
- Litigation Support

## **NEWSPAPERS** WANTED

The Irqus. The & Sun

· Bound volumes or long runs. All 19th and 20th age Decato century Australian and overseas newspapers

PHOTOPLAYER.

Post • Also popular MAGAZINES (e.g. Life, Look, Women's Weekly, etc.) to 1970

Ph & Fax: Alan Waters (03) 9826 8866 (Member of the Ephemera Society of Australia) Paper World Pty Ltd

23 Regent Street, Prahran, Vic 3181