# 1937-1997: A retrospective

Some of the major milestones in the history of the Association

#### 1937

Australian Institute of Librarians established

#### 1938

First conference of the Institute held in Sydney

#### 1941

Board of Examiners established

#### 1944

National system of examining and certificating librarians established

#### 1950

Library Association of Australia established

#### 195

Australian Library Journal published for the first time

#### 1963

Fifty founding members of the Association were awarded the first Fellowships

#### 1971

First Australian Salary Survey undertaken

#### 1972

Pilot survey on library services to migrants undertaken in New South Wales

#### <u>1973</u>

HCL Anderson and Redmond Barry award established

## 1976

Board of Examiners becomes the ALIA Board of Education

HCL Anderson to Wilma Radford

Redmond Barry to Sir Peter Crisp

Association headquarters move from Surry Hills to Clarence Street, Sydney

## 1977

The Association's Surry Hills premises sold HCL Anderson Award to F M Thurtles Thomas

Last year in which new candidates were accepted for the Registration Examination

## 1978

HCL Anderson to Dietrich Borchardt Redmond Barry to James Bennett

Final meeting of the Standing Committee of General Council

# 1979

HCL Anderson Award to Allan Horton

Redmond Barry Ward to Professor Emeritus Frederick Alexander

#### 1980

*inCite* published for the first time Registration exam ceased

#### 1981

HCL Anderson Award to Phyllis Mander-Jones

Redmond Barry Award to James Crawford

Amendments to the Associations By-laws accepted by Governor-General-in Council

#### 1982

HCL Anderson Award to Ira Raymond LAA house relocates to 376 Jones Street, Ultimo, Sydney

#### 1983

HCL Anderson Award to Sir Harold White

#### 1984

HCL Anderson Award to Harrison Bryan Redmond Barry Award to Professor Gordon Greenwood

Ellinor Archer Award established, awarded to Ena Noël

Voucher-only membership of the Association established

## 1985

HCL Anderson Award to Jean Conochie Redmond Barry Award to Sir John Starke

Inaugural Metcalfe Medallion awarded to Averill Condren

#### 1986

HCL Anderson Award to W Laurie Brown Redmond Barry Award to Justice Rae Else-Mitchell

Metcalfe Medallion to Dr Ambrose Ransley

# 1987

The Association's 50th anniversary celebrated

HCL Anderson Award to James Dwyer and Jean Whyte

General Council endorses the LAA Student Award

Inaugural LAA Library Manager of the Year awarded to Georgina Cane

# 1988

HCL Anderson Award to Warren Horton Redmond Barry Award to Marcie Muir Library Manager of the Year awarded to Alison Crook

Library Technician of the Year award established

Approval of the first professional members under the widened eligibility criteria

#### 1989

The Australian Library and Information Association established

Head office relocates to Canberra

#### 1990

Dunn & Wilson Scholarship for Technicians established

ALIA Press Board established

New ALIA building opened by the Hon Ros Kelly

Redmond Barry Award awarded to George Frederick Maltby

Fay Pattinson wins Library Technician of the Year

#### 1991

Library Manager of the Year awarded to Warwick Scott Cathro Library Technician of the Year awarded to Lexie Zantiotis

## 1993

Library Technician of the Year presented to Evette House

Metcalfe Medallion presented to Kylie Lau

## 1994

Enterprise Flexibility Agreement negotiated with ALIA National Office staff

Australian Library Week organised by ALIA National Office

Inaugural Ena Noël Australian IBBY Encouragement Award for Children's Literature presented to Arone Raymond Meeks

Redmond Barry Award presented to Hon E G Whitlam

Library Manager of the Year name change to ALIA Manager of the Year

# 1995

ALIAnet, ALIA's Internet service, launched by Governor General Bill Hayden Lobby for libraries program established

# 1996

Redmond Barry Award presented to the Hon Barry Jones