Celebrating 60 years of Presidents

In the past 60 years, the Australian Library and Information Association, nee the Library Association of Australia, nee the Australian Institute of Librarians has been presided over by an illustrious and select group of librarians. As part of an ongoing series, here we provide a snapshot of our leadership from 1983 to 1989...

1983: Mr B Mitcheson

Barrie Mitcheson was concerned with the continuing development of librarians as a professional force. He recognised that libraries exist in a dynamic environment and to meet the challenges of maintaining services involved not only professional development, but also representation by librarians in the development of information technology.

Before being elected president in 1983, Barrie Mitcheson was heavily-involved in LAA activities at the branch level, served as the Victorian General Councillor and was a member of the LAA General Council Manpower Subcommittee.

1984: Mr W M Horton

When Warren Horton succeeded Harrison Bryan as Director-General of the National Library of Australia in 1985 (a position he still holds), his background for the position was impeccable — six years as Deputy State Librarian of one State followed by three years as State Librarian of another.

During his presidency of the Library Association of Australia, Horton initiated the corporate review. His emphasis was on the importance of effective lobbying and the improvement of the image and status of the profession.

1985: Mr R L Davis

Ron Davis was involved with Western Australian Branch and served on Branch Council for over ten years before being elected president in 1985. Davis' concerns encompassed the special needs of librarians living in more remote areas who could not easily participate in LAA activities.



(from top left to bottom right, presidents in seguential order): WH Ifould 1937-38. ER Pitt 1938-39; HR Purnell 1939-40; K Binns 1940-41; HM Green 1941-43; L Scott 1943-44; JDA Collier 1944-46; JW Metcalfe 1946-48; ME Archer 1948-49; IW Metcalfe 1949-50: JG Latham 1950-53; J Morris 1954-56; JW Metcalfe 1957-60; WG Duncan 1961; BCL Doubleday 1962-63; MP Crisp 1964-66; GD Richardson 1967-68; FA Sharr 1969-70; RC Sharman 1971-72; H Bryan 1973-74: WL Brown 1975-76; M Trask 1977, J Balnaves 1978; J Brudenall 1979; WD Richardson 1980; JG Dwyer 1981; JAD Baskin 1982; B Mitcheson 1983; WM Horton 1984; RL Davis 1985: IS McCallum 1986: PH Dawe 1987; AL Bundy 1988; AMB Edwards 1989; DL Allen 1990; JA Levett 1991; BM Kirby 1992; JK Cram 1993, WC Linklater 1994; JRH Gaebler 1995; H Tait 1996; K Smith

1986: Mr I S McCallum

lan McCallum held several positions on ACT Branch Council, as well as being a senior examiner for the Board of Examiners before being elected president. McCallum was a founding member of the Information Science Section and represented the Association on the IFLA Standing Committee on Information Technology. In 1983 he received the Robert D Williamson Award for outstanding contribution to information science in Australia.

1987: Mr P H Dawe

Special Librarian Peter Dawe began his library career in the State Library of South Australia. For ten years, from 1958, he was librarian of the Division of Soils of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), beginning an association that was to dominate his career. In 1985 he was appointed Acting Manager of CSIRO's Information Resources Unit.

Dawe was deeply-involved in the introduction of automation to library systems, his interest and expertise leading to him being the inaugural Assistant Examiner in Data Processing for Information Retrieval for the Library Association of Australia. For his distin-

guished service over a wide range of activities in librarianship he was made a Fellow of the Library Association of Australia in 1984.

1988: Mr A L Bundy

Alan Bundy was the last President of LAA, before it was granted its new Royal Charter to become ALIA. Bundy began his library career in the City of Perth libraries in 1966. By 1969 he was Senior Branch Librarian before moving into the college library sector. He contributed greatly to the literature of Australian Librarianship — publishing across the spectrum of library endeavour.

1989: Ms A M B Edwards

Averill Edwards was the first President of the Australian Library and Information Association. She oversaw the construction of the new ALIA National Office ensuring that the building reflected ALIA member requirements.

Edwards was involved with the Library Association of Australia since 1961, acting on Branch Council for many years. She was also convenor of the By-laws and Regulations Committee for three years. She saw her presidency as a time to concentrate on consolidating the foundations of the new Association.