# IFLA Committees membership



Jennefer Nicholson

ALIA executive director jennefer.nicholson@alia.org.au

s the national association representative body on IFLA ALIA will nominate Australians seeking appointment or election to IFLA committees and officer positions. Our congratulations to Joyce Kirk who has been appointed to the Free Access to Information and Freedom of Expression committee and Eve Woodberry who joins the Copyright and other Legal Matters committee. It is excellent that there is Australian representation on both these committees so that we can share experiences and information across the sector internationally, particularly as the influences on policy and legislation in both these areas are as much international as domestic.

#### From NOIE to AGIMO/OIE

For those who have not heard administrative arrangements for the former National Office of the Information Economy changed on

> 8 April. The functions relating to broader policy, research and programs moved into newly established Office for the Information Economy within the Department of Communications,

Information Technology and the Arts. OIE will continue the programs and regulation on the national broadband strategy, spam, digital divide, e-security, e-business and information technology on-line. It will also undertake related policy development and research.

The Australian Government Information Management Office will undertake research on e-government issues such as governance, security, authentication and investment. It will hopefully continue the work commenced by NOIE, following the 2003 Federal Budget decision to close the government bookshops, on initiatives to improve access to Australian government information such as the government publications register.

## ScreenSound review

In February the ALIA president wrote to the Australian Film Commission (http://alia.org.au/ advocacy/submissions/integration.programs. html) with comments on the Stage Two Directions paper for ScreenSound Australia. You may have been aware of media coverage of demonstrations against proposals in the paper that may diminish collecting and public access and creating a different staffing structure. ALIA urged wide consultation with other collecting bodies and emphasised the value to the organisation, its collection and those who use it of the highly experienced and skilled professional staff. Over 120 submissions were received on the Directions paper, demonstrating that this heritage collection is valued by our community (http://www.afc.gov.au). Further information on the future of ScreenSound Australia/the National Screen and Sound Archive is expected in May.

# **Election results**

Vice-president (president-elect)

There were 895 valid ballot papers. The result was: Gillian Hallam: 553; Trevor Wakely: 342.

Directors

1088 valid ballot papers and 46 invalid ballot papers were received. Sixteen ballots were exhausted.

Director elected by membership at large (personal and institutional members): Roxanne Missingham was elected with 481 votes, over Meredith Martinelli with 390. A majority (441) was reached after transferring Sharan Harvey's 178 preferences and then Carol Newton-Smith's 252 preferences. There were 881 ballot papers with ten of these exhausted. First preference votes were Roxanne Missingham 288, Meredith Martinelli 217, Carol Newton-Smith 198 and Sharan Harvey 178.

Director elected by institutional members: Meredith Martinelli was elected with 87 votes, over Carol Newton-Smith with 84. There were 176 ballot papers, five were exhausted. Roxanne Missingham's votes were transferred as she had already been declared elected. As a majority was still not achieved Sharan Harvey's 52 votes were transferred. First preference votes were Roxanne Missingham 71, Carol Newton-Smith 45, Sharan Harvey 32 and Meredith Martinelli 28.

Director elected by NPC: Carol Newton-Smith with 17 votes, over Sharan Harvey with 13. There were 31 ballot papers with one exhausted. Roxanne Missingham's and Meredith Martinelli's votes were transferred as they had already been elected. First preference votes were Meredith, Roxanne and Carol with nine and Sharan with four.

Combined first preferences across all these three voting categories:

Roxanne Missingham — 368 (33.82 per cent) Meredith Martinelli — 254 (23.35 per cent) Carol Newton-Smith — 252 (23.16 per cent) Sharan Harvey — 214 (19.67 per cent) Total 1088

Congratulations to those elected and thanks to all candidates and voting members.

# Board of Directors meeting 17 March 2004

The Board met in Melbourne to take the opportunity to attend the ALIA Victoria function on the previous evening. It was a most enjoyable evening, with a large gathering of new and old friends and members, including a number of ALIA Fellows and past presidents, and library and information services students. The evening also celebrated the presentation of Fellowship to Moyra McAllister and ALIA Silver Pin and ALIA Victoria merit award to Bruce Davidson. This was a good confluence as Moyra, a former ALIA director, was instrumental in setting up the Victorian mentoring scheme, and had previously worked with Bruce, and Bruce had introduced an innovative cadetship scheme for new graduates when Victorian Parliamentary librarian.

### 2003 annual and financial report

The Board signed off the report for distribution to members in the April *inCite* and forwarding to the Australian Securities and Investment Commission. The Association achieved a surplus of \$85 900. Members equity was increased by a further \$1 468 538 due to the re-valuation of ALIA House and the land leasehold in line with adopting fair value valuation in