The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship

The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship is awarded annually to a female librarian or student of librarianship from any part of Australia for an outstanding paper of approximately 5000 words on any aspect of librarianship. An award of \$1000 is made to the winner.

The Fellowship honours Miss Jean Fleming Arnot (1903–1995) MBE, Fellow of the Library Association of Australia, who had a long and distinguished career in librarianship and was a pioneer of equal pay and women's rights.

Jean Arnot joined the Public (now State) Library of New South Wales at the age of 18 and retired 47 years later, having reached the position of Chief Cataloguer. In 1937, Jean became involved in the New South Wales Council of Action for Equal Pay and the Public Service Association Executive. She indefatigably lectured, debated and raised public awareness about the inequality of wages for women. Jean famously noted that for some of her professional career, she was paid less than a male cleaner. It was not until 1969 that equal pay for equal work became accepted for librarians in New South Wales. A further breakthrough occurred almost in time to coincide with her centenary year. This was the landmark decision made by the Industrial Relations Commission of New South Wales regarding parity of librarian's wages compared to equivalent professions in 2002. The Commission's statement noted that: 'We find that not only has the work of librarians, library technicians and archivists been historically undervalued, but also that there have been significant increases in the work, skill and responsibilities of such employees that has not been properly taken into account in fixing their rates of pay'. It is no exaggeration to say that this historic decision would not have been possible without the pioneering work, and the perseverance and determination of Jean Arnot.

The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship is funded by a generous donation from the National Council of Women in New South Wales Incorporated and the Australian Federation of Business and Professional Women' Associations Incorporated, with the Fellowship administration organised by the State Library of New South Wales. The award is presented in late April at a luncheon held each year in Jean Arnot's honour held in the Strangers' Dining Room, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney.

Previous winners have represented many different aspects of librarianship and have worked in public, school, university and government libraries from all over Australia. For further information including application forms and conditions and information about previous winners, see the State Library of New South Wales' website, www.sl.nsw.gov. au/awards/.

Elizabeth Ellis, State Library of New South Wales

Entries for the 2006 Fellowship close on 31 March 2006 and should be submitted to Elizabeth Ellis, assistant state librarian, State Library of New South Wales, Macquarie Street, Sydney 2000. Please telephone 02 9273 1467 or e-mail eellis@sl.nsw.gov.au or consult the Library's website at http://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/awards/ for conditions of entry and entry forms.



JEAN ARNOT MEMORIAL FELLOWSHIP 2006

The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship honours Jean Fleming Arnot (1903–1995) MBE, FLAA, who had a distinguished career of 47 years in librarianship and was a pioneer of equal pay and women's rights.

The fellowship is funded by a generous donation from the National Council of Women in New South Wales Incorporated and the Australian Federation of Business and Professional Women's Associations Incorporated.

The fellowship is awarded to a female librarian or student of librarianship for an outstanding paper of no more than 5000 words on any aspect of librarianship. An award of \$1000 will be presented to the winner at the annual Jean Arnot Memorial Luncheon to be held in Sydney in April 2006.

Entries for the fellowship close on 31 March 2006 and should be submitted to:

Elizabeth Ellis, Assistant State Librarian, Collection Management Services & Mitchell Librarian, State Library of New South Wales, Macquarie Street Sydney NSW 2000.

Please telephone (02) 9273 1466 or email cellis@sl.nsw.gov.au for further information or consult the Library's website: http://www.sl.nsw.gov. au/awards/> for conditions of entry and application forms.



www.sl.nsw.gov.au www.atmitchell.com