

he prestigious honours of the Library Council of NSW for 2017 were announced at a special awards ceremony at the State Library of NSW in December last year. We take a look at the contributions made by six outstanding contributors to library and information excellence.

LYN BARAKAT - HONORARY FELLOWSHIP

FELLOWS

Lyn Barakat was recognised for her contributions to NSW public libraries, in particular Sutherland Shire Council Libraries.

Lyn retired as Library Manager of Sutherland Shire Council in 2015 after 34 years of service. Throughout her career Lyn was responsible for the establishment of the Sutherland Central Library, the Cronulla and Caringbah Libraries as well as the relocation of the Bangor, Miranda and Engadine branches. Lyn held executive roles in the Public Libraries Research Committee among other regional and state groups. She was awarded Life Membership to NSW Public Libraries Association in 2015.

ROBIN RILEY – HONORARY FELLOWSHIP

Robin Riley, the Librarian of Tenterfield Library from 1990 until her retirement in 2014, made an outstanding contribution to enhancing the artistic, cultural and educational life of northern NSW. She played a key role in the development of the Sir Henry Parkes Memorial School of Arts complex, which includes Tenterfield Library. Robin served as a representative on the Country Public Libraries Association and Arts North West, which facilitates the development of arts and cultural projects across the New England North West region.

GRAHAM SMITH – HONORARY FELLOWSHIP

Graham served the NSW public library network at a local, state and national level from 2004 to 2016. His key role was as the inaugural President of the NSW Public Library Association, but he has also served on the NSW Public Libraries Consultative Committee and the Australian Public Libraries Alliance. Because of his advocacy, libraries in NSW have benefited from the National Year of Reading, the Early Literacy Framework and Strategy, and the release of the ALIA National Standards and Guidelines for Australian Public Libraries.

Back row (left to right): George Souris AM, Graham Smith, Lyn Barakat and Graham Bradley AM Front row (left to right) Dr John Vallance, Dr Keith Vincent Smith, Robin Riley and Dr David Jones.

DR KEITH VINCENT SMITH - EMERITUS CURATOR

Keith Vincent Smith was recognised for his exceptional contributions in advancing and enhancing the story of Indigenous encounter in this nation and use of State Library of NSW collections. Keith has a distinguished career as a journalist, historian and curator. He has used the State Library of NSW's collection over a long period to advance and enhance the story of Indigenous encounter in this nation.

Keith has made a groundbreaking and invaluable contribution to the understanding of Aboriginal history in Sydney through his books King Bungaree, Bennelong and MARI NAWI: Aboriginal Odysseys.

DR DAVID J JONES - THE IFOULD MEDAL

David J Jones dedicated almost 40 years of service to the State Library of NSW from 1970 to 2008, eventually specialising in the planning of library buildings. His contribution to librarianship will not be easily surpassed. David is a leading Australian library historian and he has many publications to his name, including a book about the buildings of the State Library. He was awarded the Fellowship of the Australian Library and Information Association in 2003 and the HCL Anderson Award in 2017. GRAHAM BRADLEY AM - THE DIXSON MEDAL

Graham Bradley was recognised for his sustained support for the State Library of NSW and its foundation. Graham's name is synonymous with business in Australia. He was president of the Business Council of Australia from 2009 to 2011 and is a professional company director, currently serving as Non-Executive Chairman of HSBC Bank Australia, EnergyAustralia Holdings and Infrastructure NSW. He has also made an enormous contribution to the State Library of NSW for more than 13 years. He was responsible as head of the @mitchell.com campaign for raising nearly \$10 million from 2004 to 2009. He is currently a member of the Foundation Board, on which he has served for 10 years.