Commonwealth Numbered Acts

[Index] [Table] [Search] [Search this Act] [Notes] [Noteup] [Previous] [Next] [Download] [Help]

FAIR WORK ACT 2009 (NO. 28, 2009) - SECT 61

The National Employment Standards are minimum standards applying to employment of employees

             (1)  This Part sets minimum standards that apply to the employment of employees which cannot be displaced, even if an enterprise agreement includes terms of the kind referred to in subsection 55(5).

Note:          Subsection 55(5) allows enterprise agreements to include terms that have the same (or substantially the same) effect as provisions of the National Employment Standards.

             (2)  The minimum standards relate to the following matters:

                     (a)  maximum weekly hours (Division 3);

                     (b)  requests for flexible working arrangements (Division 4);

                     (c)  parental leave and related entitlements (Division 5);

                     (d)  annual leave (Division 6);

                     (e)  personal/carer's leave and compassionate leave (Division 7);

                      (f)  community service leave (Division 8);

                     (g)  long service leave (Division 9);

                     (h)  public holidays (Division 10);

                      (i)  notice of termination and redundancy pay (Division 11);

                      (j)  Fair Work Information Statement (Division 12).

             (3)  Divisions 3 to 12 constitute the National Employment Standards .


AustLII: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback