(3) Where, immediately prior to the date of commencement of this Act, a contributor whose salary exceeded six hundred and twenty-four pounds per annum was contributing for the maximum number of units of pension for which he was eligible or required to contribute, he may, within three months after that date, elect to increase the amount of his contribution to a sum which will provide units of pension not exceeding the number specified in the second column of the scale contained in section twenty of the Principal Act (as amended by this Act) opposite to the salary group within which his salary fell on that date.

(4) Any increased contribution payable in pursuance of any election under this section shall be payable as from the first pay-day occurring after the date of the election.

8—(1) From and after the commencement of this Act Election of the member of the Board elected before such commencement $\frac{\text{additional}}{\text{member}}$ of by contributors other than contributors in the Railway Ser- the Board vice shall be deemed, for all purposes, to be the member elected by contributors in the Teaching Service.

(2) As soon as practicable after the commencement of this Act, the Board shall cause an election to be held for the election of a member under and for the purposes of paragraph III. of subsection (2) of section seven of the Principal Act (as amended by this Act) and the member so elected shall, unless his office sooner becomes vacant, hold office until the appointment of a successor after the election to be held in the year 1953.

MILK.

No. 73 of 1950.

AN ACT to amend the Milk Act 1947. [14 December, 1950.]

B^E it enacted by His Excellency the Governor of Tasmania, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and House of Assembly, in Parliament assembled, as follows:—

1—(1) This Act may be cited as the Milk Act 1950.

(2) The *Milk Act* 1947* is in this Act referred to as the $\frac{citation, and commence-commenc$

(3) This Act shall commence on a date to be fixed by proclamation.

Short title, citation, and Constitution and incorporation of board.

260

2 Section five of the Principal Act is amended—

- (a) by omitting from subsection (2) the word "six" and substituting therefor the word "seven", and by omitting from paragraph (b) of that subsection the word "five" and substituting therefor the word "six";
- (b) by adding at the end of paragraph (b) of that subsection the words "(in this Act referred to as 'elected members')"; and
- (b) by inserting after subsection (2) the following subsections:---

"(2A) For the purposes of elections of members of the board, the State shall be divided into three electoral districts, to be designated respectively the Southern district, the Northern district, and the North-western district, which shall comprise the areas of the several cities and municipalities respectively specified in the schedule opposite the names of those districts.

(2B) Of the elected members of the board—

- (a) three shall be elected by dairymen residing in the Southern district;
- (b) two shall be elected by dairymen residing in the Northern district; and
- (c) one shall be elected by dairymen residing in the North-western district.".

3 Section eight of the Principal Act is amended—

- (a) by inserting in subsection (4), after the word "prepare", the words ", for and in respect of each electoral district referred to in section five,"; and
- (b) by omitting from subsection (6) the word "the" (first occurring) and substituting therefor the word "each".

Electoral districts. **4** The Principal Act is amended by adding at the end thereof the following schedule:—

"THE SCHEDULE.

(Section 5.)

ELECTORAL DISTRICTS.

Southern District: All that area comprised within the City of Hobart and the Municipalities of Oatlands, Green Ponds, Bothwell, Hamilton, Glamorgan, Brighton, Spring Bay, Richmond, Clarence, Sorell, Tasman, New Norfolk, Glenorchy, Huon, Esperance, Port Cygnet, Kingborough, and Bruny.

Registration of dairymen entitled to vot at

elections.

1950.

Northern District: All that area comprised within the City of Launceston and the Municipalities of Deloraine, Westbury, Beaconsfield, St. Leonards, Evandale, Campbell Town, Ross, George Town, Lilydale, Scottsdale, Ringarooma, Portland, Flinders, Fingal, and Longford.

North-western District: All that area comprised within the Municipalities of Circular Head, Table Cape, Waratah, Zeehan, Strahan, Queenstown, Gormanston, Burnie, Penguin, Leven, Kentish, Devonport, and Latrobe.".

EXPIRING LAWS CONTINUANCE.

No. 74 of 1950.

AN ACT to continue certain expiring Laws. [14 December, 1950.]

WHEREAS the Acts mentioned in the schedule to this Act PREAMBLE. are, in so far as they are in force and are temporary in ^{Cf. 12} & 13 their duration, limited to expire on the thirty-first day of December One thousand nine hundred and fifty:

And whereas it is expedient to provide for the continuance, as in this Act mentioned, of those Acts and of the enactments amending or affecting the same:

Be it therefore enacted by His Excellency the Governor of Tasmania, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and House of Assembly, in Parliament assembled, as follows:—

1 This Act may be cited as the *Expiring Laws Continuance* short inte. Act 1950.

2-(1) The Acts mentioned in the schedule shall be con- Continuanc of Acts in schedule.

(2) Any unrepealed enactments which are temporary in ^{*Ibid.* s. 1. their duration shall, in so far as they amend or affect, any enactment continued by the foregoing provisions of this Act, be continued in like manner as that enactment whether they are mentioned in the schedule to this Act or not.}